Alfajores

When people ask me what my favorite kind of food is my answer is unusually quick. Dessert.

DSC_0118b

I also love international food

I am half Peruvian  and spent a month in Peru gathering recipes every day (I am currently writing a book)

Which is why today I feel inclined to give you guys the recipe is for Alfajores

They are a Peruvian butter cookies filled with a caramel substance called manjar blanco

I could live off of this, lemon bars, and taco salads for the rest of my life

Alfajores

2 C flour

3/4 C unsalted butter, softened

4 Tb powdered sugar

Manjar blanco (Recipe Here or buy at a latino store as Dulce de Leche)

Preheat oven to 325 degrees F

DSC_0087

Whip the butter until fluffy

DSC_0093

Sift in flour and sugar

DSC_0097

combine with a pastry cutter until crumbly

DSC_0099

Place dough in the fridge for 20 min

DSC_0104-2

Roll the cookies out to what ever size or shape you want them.

DSC_0109

I rolled them out about 1/2″ thick and cut out medium size circles.

Place them in the oven for 10-15 min and DONT LET THEM BROWN AT ALL!

Let them cool and dollop a spoonful of manjar blanco in the middle and sandwich another cookie on top.

Traditionally they are topped with powdered sugar and the sides can be rolled in coconut shreds.

I apologize in advance for the addiction that will be created when you try these.

DSC_0118b

2 comments

Leave a Reply

