Applesauce

Sometimes there are moments in your life when you step back and look at the entire picture and you feel the weight of past, present, and future and how it all comes together. Reflecting on life and your purpose is important and essential to future progress. It it so relieving to know that there is a God and He loves each of his children individually. During these times I feel like my “battery” is being recharged and I again have the determination to continue to be the best self I can be during my life here on earth.

In other news… I am trying to eat better and lately find myself drawn to healthy recipes.

I sometimes applesauce can be a great alternative when you want to cut back your fat and cholesterol in your baking.

Unfortunately you may not always have applesauce on hand (such is the predicament I found myself in this week) and are driven to making it on your own.

This is a great way to get the pure stuff and cut back on sugar and chemicals of applesauce found on the shelf of your local grocer.

Applesauce

2 apples
1/4 C water
1 Tb sugar
cinnamon (optional)

DSC_0230

Peel, core, and slice your apples and add all ingredients in a small saucepan.

DSC_0235

Cover and cook over a medium flame for about 16-17 minutes. When apples are soft mash with a fork and then allow to cool.

It can be store in a sealed container for up to a week in the refrigerator. Enjoy

Leave a Reply

