Banana Creme Pie

*If you are just here for the recipe, scroll to the bottom of this post, but if curiosity strikes you read on 🙂

I can’t believe its been 2 months.

Two months since, I have been back from the most incredible adventure I ever embarked on.

Being a missionary for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.

The adventure never ends though, just because I don’t wear the plaque doesn’t mean I’m not wearing it on my heart.

So much has happened since I came back, it’s almost a blur.

I am so grateful for the lessons I learned so far, and many more to come, I have so much more to become.

You come back from the mission and assume you figured out life, I didn’t realize how many mistakes you can make in such a short period of time. That’s why I am so grateful for the spirit, He guides us, as long as we are doing our part by living a life that is worthy of His company.

My mission taught me that type of life I need to live, through prayer, scripture study, temple attendance, daily repentance, obedience, and the list goes on.

I am so grateful for the atonement of Christ, it gives me hope that each day I can become a better person.

None of us are perfect and we won’t reach that in this life, but we can do what we can and leave the rest to the Lord.

Christ cares more about Potential than Perfection.

He looks upon the heart.

I had quite the week, it started off in California…

IMG_1493

Went to Oakland, to attend one of my best friend’s wedding, her and I were companions in the mission field. She looked gorgeous and so happy! It was beautiful, I had never been to a temple sealing before. The spirit was so strong and it really changed my eternal perspective on life.

2015-10-25 14.11.19

I got into my first car accident the day I went home, that shook me up a little bit, haha.

It wasn’t that bad though and I was still able to drive home safely.

FullSizeRender

Some highlights of the week were that I got my press pass for BYUSA, so I can interview and take pictures at events, like a journalist!

IMG_1824 2

At my job, we had a halloween party, which was so fun! I am so blessed to have such an amazing job and get to work with amazing people!

IMG_1353

I did the Halloween half, which was my first half marathon. My time was 2:05:34.7 I wanna try for a Marathon next year!

IMG_1898

I spent most of the week with my family, I am so grateful to be with them eternally. They are perfect for me, and I love them more than words can describe. I know that no matter what happens, they will always be there for me. I am the luckiest girl in the world 🙂

IMG_1874 2

I had an INCREDIBLE Sunday!

I was asked to speak to the Young Women in my home ward. Looking out on all those girls, and how many expressed desires of going on a mission, I just felt the spirit so strong. They have so much potential! I got to stop in and visit my parents nursery class, little children are so innocent and adorable!

The bishop of my single’s ward extended me a call as ward mission leader! I was so happy! Heavenly Father knew my desire still being a missionary, and now every week I get to have proselyting time, and work with the surprisingly high amount of non members we have in our ward. I am humbled that Heavenly Father would trust me with this calling, but I will do all I can to be a tool in the Lord’s hand and hopefully help someone understand the love the Lord has for them.

I got to spend some time with my cousin who is getting his mission call this week. We talked about missionary life, and studies and I was just so excited for him. He is so lucky to just be starting his mission and I know he is going to do amazing things!

And now to the part you have all been waiting for the recipe for Banana Creme Pie!

We visited a sweet member of my home ward. His wife really touched my life, and has since passed away. I found out his favorite dessert is Banana Creme Pie, so we knew we had to make it for him! We talked about life and all shared our favorite scriptures as we ate this delicious pie!

BANANA CREME PIE

DSC_0069

3/4 C Sugar

1/3 C Flour

1/4 Tsp Salt

2 C Milk

3 Egg Yolks, Beaten

2 Tb Butter

1 1/4 Tsp Vanilla

1 (9in) Pie Crust, Baked *Click on the link for the best pie crust recipe EVER, bake for 15 min before using in this recipe.

4 Bananas

DSC_0014

In a sauce pan, combine the sugar, flour, and salt. Add milk gradually while stirring over medium heat.

DSC_0019

Keep stirring until the mixture is bubbly. Keep stirring and cook for 2 more minutes then remove from the burner.

DSC_0025

Stir a small amount of the hot mixture into the beaten egg yolks.

DSC_0029

Immediately add the picture into the entire hot mixture. Cook for 2 minutes, while stirring.

DSC_0031

Remove from heat and add butter and vanilla. Stir until smooth.

DSC_0035

Slice bananas (I didn’t try it this time, but next time I think I will puree the bananas and add to the pudding mixture) and put into cooled baked pastry shell. Top with pudding mixture.

DSC_0044

You can cover edges with aluminum foil so they don’t burn and take it off for the last few minutes of baking, but it’s up to you. Bake the pie at 350 degrees for 12-15 minutes. Put it in the fridge for an hour. Serve!

DSC_0055

The pie was a hit, and paired with good company, and scripture reading it was a great ending to this week.

My sister’s favorite scripture really touched me, Helaman 5:12, I had been thinking a lot about foundations lately. I realized that many problems that come to us in life are because we don’t have our foundation in Christ. Decisions are so much easier to make when we put the Lord’s will first then everything else will fall into place, but if we don’t have that foundation it will be hard when “mighty winds” come. If we don’t have a strong foundation, it’s harder to help those around us. Sometimes we have to give up what we want, because we know it will help someone else. Charity Never Faileth.

With Love,

Kelsey

Source

One comment

Leave a comment