Banana Bread

It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas… actually not really we haven’t seen a lot of snow and it’s actually been really beautiful weather!!!

I am so excited for this season!

I had the amazing opportunity to go to the Christmas Devotional this weekend. What a beautiful opportunity to hear the leaders of the church testify and give thanks for the incredible gift that we have been given, which is our Savior Jesus Christ.

IMG_2483

I loved Sister Burton’s talk. Lately as I have noticed so many around me who are going through hard times, and probably many more who don’t mention their struggles. It breaks my heart and I have gained an even greater testimony lately of the power of charity and looking outwards to help others.

Sister Burton told the story of two tough experiences she went through in her life and the love and peace she gained through her testimony of God’s plan. You can watch it here. We have the have the choice to either take the tough experiences we go through in mortality and learn from them and turn to God, or “will ye also turn away”? In her own words:

“When times are difficult we can make the choice to turn away from him and struggle through our afflictions alone or we can make the choice to turn to him and the father’s plan, finding that we will suffer no manner of afflictions but tha tit were swallowed up in the joy of Christ.”

I wish I could help everyone who is suffering realize the love that God has for each and every one of them. That he sees them and their potential as so much more than they can imagine. That he knows them personally! That he suffered all their heartaches and is the only person in the entire universe that can understand perfectly what they are going through.

In my life the best remedy for when I am going through hardships is to look to others who are suffering too and be an answer to their prayers. Be grateful for the trails you are enduring. They teach you priceless lessons that shape you into the wonderful person you are striving to become. NEVER give up! There are so many that surround you, who love you! Dont be afraid to let them know what you are going through.

It truly breaks my heart to know that their are people out their who feel alone. Christ will never leave you. His hand is always extended, it is up to you to grab on.

He died for you.

For You!

I testify of the increidble gift that the Atonement is, that the Father gave us his only begotten Son and that through him we can have eternal life and joy!

Like Sister Burton I invite you to “Come let us adore Him!” and feel of his love and light especially during this beautiful Christmas season 🙂

This week was mostly working on end of semester homework.

I got to go ice skating and biffed it a few times, gracefully of course haha. It was really fun that I had the opportunity to cover the Freezefest for BYUSA.

I got to go to the Christmas market with some friends and met a Llama, I saw a hilarious pillow I wanted to buy that said, “Como se … Llama.” I was dying, haha, I am so easily entertained sometimes.

IMG_2461

I have been working for a couple of weeks of fufilling my life long dream of playing the guitar! I can play a few songs and handful of Christmas ones. I’ve gotten a lot of the chords down, it’s the strumming patterns that catch me a little off guard haha. In fact my spanish class at work is going to sing “Feliz Navidad,” for our Christmas party and they decided I was playing the guitar… I don’t know who thought that was a good idea, but I’ll let you know how it goes 🙂

Some friends and I went to my first Vocal Point concert this week!!! After I got to meet them all and they we all such sweet guys 🙂 I got a selfie with them and a lot of them liked it on instagram, haha we are practically besties 🙂 That’s my claim to fame!

IMG_2460

I’m so blessed!

Blessing #3 gazillion…

DSC_0085

BANANA BREAD

1/2 C butter

1 C sugar

2 eggs

4 mashed bananas

2 C flour

1 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

DSC_0040

Put the butter and sugar into an electrical mixer.

DSC_0042

Mash the Bananas.

DSC_0046

Cream the butter and sugar.

DSC_0053

Add the rest of the ingredients. Put into a greased bread mold and bake at 350 degrees F for 1 hour!

DSC_0074 (2)

I’m so excited that it’s Christmas time 🙂 and that we have this season to, “Adore Him!” I love this quote by Thomas S. Monson

“I testify that He is a teacher of truth—but He is more than a teacher.

He is the Exemplar of the perfect life—but He is more than an exemplar.

He is the Great Physician—but He is more than a physician.

He is the literal Savior of the world, the Son of God, the Prince of Peace, the Holy One of Israel, even the risen Lord.”

Love,

Kelsey

 

Leave a Reply

