Crepes

I honed in my inner Katniss this week!

FullSizeRender

Got Archery off my bucketlist! Wow, it’s way harder than it looks!

IMG_2499

I had the best run this week! We ran up the canyon to Bride Veil Falls and even managed to hike up the icy trail to get a better look. It was gorgeous and freezing! We kept slipping the entire way, but the sunrise was beautiful!

Oooohhh Have you heard the song Geronimo by Sheppard? It’s definitely my favorite song this week 🙂

IMG_2535

I got to meet up with old friends, mission friends and new friends AND we finally went to that crepe place in Orem I’ve been dying to go to for forever! It was all it was cracked up to be 🙂

FullSizeRender 2

The roomies came over for dinner, at my place and we had a great time with great company, good food, and fun times.

I’m hoping I can get through finals week… pray for me!!!

This week in our mission planning meetings we focused a lot on sharing the gospel online, Elder Ballard has asked return missionaries to post an experience from their mission using #mymissionchristmas.

I absolutely love Christmas, family, traditions, and wonderful food!!!

but…

One of my absolute favorite Christmases was as a missionary in Omaha, Nebraska.

We started that day going to breakfast with a few related families in the ward. We help set up and I hadn’t talked to my family since Mother’s day, almost 7 months. I had so many emotions running through me that I couldn’t eat, I was shaking a little. I had waited for this moment for such a long time, and it was finally here! I finally got onto Skype and I was completely overjoyed to see my beautiful family so far, yet so close to my heart. We talked and talked and I think I even snuck in a lesson in there haha. I didn’t want to hang up I knew it would be months and months until I could see their wonderful faces again. I just felt Real Happiness talking to them, families bring true happiness in our lives!

After we went door to door handing out cards that had links to a Christmas video called He is the Gift. You can check out this years video at https://www.mormon.org/christmas. We had some pretty funny encounters, one guy asked me if I had a girlfriend and offered willingly to be mine if the answer was no. At another house a drunk guy wanted to hug me and ended up chasing me a little when the answer was no. Haha so many memories! It was amazing to see people on actual Christmas day, hard to explain, but I had always spent the entire day with my family. On the day that we celebrate the birth of Christ who gave love to so many it just made sense to me that there was no better way than serving others. We ended up knocking around a hundred doors on that Nebraska winter day, we were so tired and cold BUT I was truly happy!

We headed over to our investigators house, I love that family sooooo dearly!!! The wife was a member and we were teaching her husband. He later was baptized I am pretty sure I cried the day I found out 🙂 They are just so wonderful!!! We were so lucky to eat dinner with them and their extended family too! We shared a message and I felt it again, True Happiness 🙂

IMG_2568.JPG

We ended the night caroling with other missionaries in the area. The spirit was so strong as we sung songs that testified of the most incredible gift God has ever given to man, His Only Begotten Son, Jesus Christ. My favorite part of this picture is the Temple in the top corner. I am so grateful for everything in my life!!! I have always been incredibly blessed! I love this gospel, I love my Lord, I love the people in my life, the incredible opportunities I have everyday, and countless more blessings I can’t even count! I am especially grateful for True Happiness that is only gained through the blessings that our Lord has given us, and even though I will never be able to pay him back, I try everyday to be faithful and serve him.

I Love Him.

nativity-scene-mary-joseph-baby-jesus-1326846-high-res-print.jpg

I made crepes this week.

We ate them all before I could take a picture.

This happens sometimes… more often than you’d think.

Haha

I’ll be better, I promise!

Hopefully you can forgive me 🙂

Love,

Kelsey

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

